Explore Brussels

No dates yet? See all properties

Brussels (French: Bruxelles, [bʁysɛl] (About this sound listen); Dutch: Brussel, [ˈbrʏsəl] (About this sound listen)), officially the Brussels-Capital Region[6][7] (French: Région de Bruxelles-Capitale, Dutch: Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest),[a] is a region of Belgiumcomprising 19 municipalities, including the City of Brussels, which is the capital of Belgium.[8] The Brussels-Capital Region is located in the central portion of the country and is a part of both the French Community of Belgium[9] and the Flemish Community,[10] but is separate from Flanders (in which it forms an enclave) and Wallonia.[11][12] It covers 161 km2 (62 sq mi), a relatively small area compared to the two other regions, and has a population of 1.2 million. The metropolitan area counts over 2.1 million people, which makes it the largest in Belgium.[13][14][15] It is also part of a large conurbation extending towards Ghent, Antwerp, Leuven and Walloon Brabant, home to over 5 million people.[16]


Read more